Rohit Sharma, Vinesh Phogat among 5 athletes to receive Khel Ratna

New Delhi: Star India batsman Rohit Sharma is among the many 5 athletes who will obtain the nation’s highest sporting honour, the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, for 2020.

This would be the first time within the historical past of Nationwide Sports activities Day awards that 5 sportspersons shall be conferred with the Khel Ratna.

The Choice Committee for Nationwide Sports activities Awards 2020 on Friday confirmed that cricketer Rohit, wrestler Vinesh Phogat, ladies’s hockey captain Rani Rampal, desk tennis star Manika Batra and para athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu shall be conferred with the celebrated award on August 29 on the event of Nationwide Sports activities Day.

Rohit would be the fourth cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar, M.S. Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be conferred with the award. Tendulkar was awarded the Khel Ratna in 1998, Dhoni received it in 2007 whereas Kohli acquired it in 2018.

Additionally, 27 athletes, together with cricketer Ishant Sharma, will get the Arjuna Award on August 29.

Apparently, Sakshi Malik and Mirabai Chanu’s names have been faraway from the ultimate listing. Their names have been earlier really helpful for Arjuna Award.

I really feel damaged, says miffed Sakshi after Arjuna snub

Olympic bronze medallist Sakshi Malik on Friday got here down closely on the Sports activities Ministry for leaving her title out of the ultimate listing of Arjuna awardees.

The Ministry determined towards bestowing the Arjuna on Sakshi and weightlifter Mirabai Chanu as the 2 have already been conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.

Chatting with IANS, Sakshi mentioned she is dissatisfied with the federal government for ignoring her achievements.

“I at all times needed to be known as as Arjuna awardee Sakshi Malik. The athletes do all the things to win such accolades. She or he needs to win all of the awards. That’s what motivates us.

“I don’t know what I ought to do to win the Arjuna award. I’m blissful to be conferred with the Khel Ratna award in 2016. And I respect it too. However I at all times needed Arjuna. That was my dream,” a fuming Sakshi mentioned.

Final week, the Justice (retd) Mukundakam Sharma-led choice committee had really helpful 29 names for the Arjuna award to the Sports activities Ministry. The listing additionally included Sakshi and 2017 weightlifting world champion Mirabai, however the resolution of bestowing the Arjuna on them was left to the discretion of Sports activities Minister Kiren Rijiju.

This was resulting from the truth that they’d already gained the Khel Ratna, the nation’s highest sporting honour.

Athletes who will obtain Arjuna award this 12 months are: Atanu Das (archery), Dutee Chand (athletics), Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy, Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty (badminton), Vishesh Bhriguvanshi (basketball), Subedar Manish Kaushik, Lovlina Borgohain (boxing), Ishant Sharma, Deepti Sharma (cricket), Sawant Ajay Anant (equestrian), Sandesh Jhingan (soccer), Aditi Ashok (golf), Akashdeep Singh, Deepika (hockey), Deepak (kabaddi), Kale Sarika Sudhakar (Kho Kho), Dattu Baban Bhokanal (rowing), Manu Bhaker, Saurabh Chaudhary (capturing), Madhurika Suhas Patkar (desk tennis), Divij Sharan (tennis), Shiva Keshavan (winter sports activities), Divya Kakran, Rahul Conscious (wrestling), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (para-swimming), Sandeep (para-athletics) and Manish Narwal (para capturing).


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button