National News

Rajeev Kumar Takes Charge As New Election Commissioner

New Delhi: Former Finance Secretary and retired IAS officer Rajeev Kumar on Tuesday assumed cost because the third Election Commissioner, alongside Sunil Arora, the chief of the panel, and Sushil Chandra.

The Union Ministry of Legislation and Justice on August 21 cleared the appointment of Kumar to the submit after Election Commissioner Ashok Lavasa, who is understood to have had a tense relationship with the Narendra Modi authorities, resigned from his submit with impact from August 31 to hitch the Asian Improvement Financial institution as Vice President.

An avid trekker with a eager curiosity in Indian classical and devotional music, Kumar, a 1984 batch IAS officer of the Jharkhand cadre, joined the Fee in presence of Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra.

Born on February 19, 1960, Kumar has labored in numerous ministries on the Centre and his state cadre of Bihar and Jharkhand throughout the span of greater than 36 years of Central authorities service. Buying his tutorial levels of B.SC, LL.B, PGDM and MA Public Coverage,

Kumar has intensive work expertise throughout Social Sector, Surroundings and Forests, Human Assets, Finance and Banking Sector. He additionally has a eager dedication to make use of of expertise purposes and to result in amendments in extant coverage regime in the direction of higher transparency, supply of providers to residents instantly, eliminating intermediaries.

Retired as Union Finance Secretary in February 2020, Kumar was thereafter appointed as Chairman Public Enterprises Choice Board from April 2020 until demitting workplace on August 31, 2020.

He has additionally been Institution Officer, Division of Personnel and Coaching from 2015-17 and previous to that Joint Secretary, Division of Expenditure with earlier assignments in Ministry of Tribal Affairs, Ministry of Surroundings and Forests as additionally Schooling division in state cadre.


You Might Additionally Learn:

Former Finance Secretary Rajiv Kumar Appointed As Election Commissioner

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button