National Sports Awards: Badminton Sets Milestone Sweeping Six Awards

New Delhi: The 2020 Nationwide Sports activities Awards curved a milestone second for Indian badminton because it obtained as many as file six awards which additionally included its first-ever Dhyanchand Award for lifetime achievement.

The distinguished Dhyanchand Award was conferred to former star shuttlers Pradeep Gandhe, Trupti Murgunde and Satyaprakash Tiwari (para) for his or her contribution to the sports activities.

Gandhe, who received doubles bronze on the 1982 Asian Video games, was a up to date of the likes of Prakash Padukone and Syed Modi. Whereas the two-time South Asian gold medallist Murgunde was identified for her tactical brilliance on court docket.

Additionally Learn: Rohit Sharma, Vinesh Phogat amongst 5 athletes to obtain Khel Ratna

Alongside Tiwari, who has 9 worldwide medals to his title in recognised para occasions, para badminton group’s head coach Gaurav Khanna was additionally honoured with Dronacharya award. Beneath Khanna, the Indian group has scripted many wonderful moments which additionally embody gold medals on the World Championship.

“Receiving Dhyanchand Award for the first time is a special moment for the Indian badminton. Such recognitions always encourage us to work harder. On behalf of the Badminton Association of India (BAI) and President Himanta Biswa Sarma, I would like to congratulate all three winners of Dhyanchand Award as well as the other recipients including coach Khanna who took para team to new heights,” BAI Secretary Ajay Singhania stated.

You Could Like: Nationwide Sports activities Awards Prize Cash Set To Be Hiked

India’s No. 1 males’s double group members Chirag Shetty and Satwik Rankireddy additionally obtained the Arjuna award for his or her spectacular performances in 2019.

“The youngsters always give hope of a brighter future. It’s great to see Chirag and Satwik performing so well and consistently on the international circuit. They deserve such rewards for their performances. I’m sure Indian shuttlers will continue to bring laurels for the country,” Singhania added.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button