India Beat Australia Via Shoot-Out In 2nd Match Of FIH Pro League

Bhubaneswar: India bounced again in fashion to beat title holders Australia 3-1 by way of a shoot-out within the second match of the two-leg FIH Professional League match right here on Saturday.

Each the groups have been locked 2-2 on the finish of regulation time on the Kalinga Stadium.

India transformed two penalty corners by way of Rupinder Pal Singh (25th minute) and Harmanpreet Singh (27th), whereas Trent Mitton (23rd) and skipper Aran Zalewski (46th) have been the scorers for Australia within the regulation 60 minutes.

India had misplaced 3-Four to the guests within the first recreation on Friday.

By advantage of this win, India earned three factors from the sport whereas Australia pocketed one.

Each India and Australia have 10 factors from six video games however the Kookaburras are a rung above the Manpreet Singh-led facet at third spot within the standings on aim distinction.

Within the shoot-out, Harmanpreet, Vivek Sagar Prasad and Lalit Upadhyay scored for India, whereas solely Daniel Beale discovered the online for the guests.

Australia made a optimistic begin, incomes a penalty nook contained in the opening 30 seconds of the match, however Jeremy Hayward’s flick was saved by India goalkeeper P R Sreejesh.

After that it was all India with the hosts pinning the Kookaburras deep in their very own territory however failing to create clear-cut alternatives.

Within the eighth minute Australia secured back-to-back penalty corners, the second of which was transformed by Lachlan Sharp with a rebound, however the aim was dominated out after India referred to as for video referral for obstruction on goalkeeper Sreejesh.

The Kookaburras gained one other penalty nook within the 12th minute however Sreejesh as soon as once more got here to India’s rescue by denying Hayward.

Three minutes into the second quarter, Jarmanpreet Singh missed an excellent probability to place India forward, slapping his first-time shot simply extensive of the left submit after he was picked out by Amit Rohidas’ looking out cross from the suitable.

Seconds later, the Indians defended a fifth Australian penalty nook.

Mitton broke the impasse for Australia within the 23rd minute after beating second- alternative India goalkeeper Krishan Pathak at his near-post with a strong slap-shot.

Australia earned their sixth penalty nook quickly however did not convert. 5 minutes from half time, Rupinder equalised for the hosts, changing a penalty nook with a low drag-flick that went by way of the legs of Australia goalkeeper Tyler Lovell.

Two minutes later, Harmanpreet transformed one other set-piece handy India a 2-1 lead going into the midway stage.

Two minutes into the second half, Australia secured two penalty corners in succession, however Hayward’s shot on aim from the second probability was disallowed.

A minute later Tim Model missed a penalty stroke for Australia.

Within the 43rd minute, Ramandeep Singh fired excessive and extensive of the rival aim.

Australia drew degree quickly when an unmarked Zalewski scored from a subject effort.

Two minutes from the ultimate hooter, Vivek was denied by Tim Howard with a superb sort out.

Within the remaining minute, Australia acquired a golden probability to seal the match within the type of a penalty nook, however Matt Dawson’s slap-shot was brilliantly blocked by an onrushing Rohidas.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button