Hima named in relay team in 25-member World C’ships squad

New Delhi: The Athletics Federation of India (AFI) choice committee has picked Hima Das among the many 25-member nationwide workforce comprising 16 males and 9 ladies for the IAAF World Championships to be held in Doha, Qatar, from September 27 to October 6.

With lower than a 12 months to go for the Olympic Video games in Tokyo, the squad will carry the hopes of the monitor and discipline followers of the nation.

The AFI believes that the 4x400m relay groups will all carry out higher than they did within the World Relays in Yokohama in Could final. “We have invested a lot of time in the 400m runners, getting them to train under renowned coach Galina Bukharina. “We believe that the squad has been well prepared to deliver the best results on the World stage,” AFI President Adille J. Sumariwalla mentioned on Monday.

Metric miler Jinson Johnson, who’s now coaching with Coach Scott Simmons in Colarado Springs, US, has caught the attention together with his consistency. Within the latest months, he improved his personal Nationwide report within the 1500m twice, first with a time of three:37.62 minutes in Nijmegen, the Netherlands, on June 15 after which 3:35.24 minutes in Berlin on September 1 to make the grade.

Lengthy jumper M. Sreeshankar, among the many first Indians to achieve the IAAF qualifying commonplace with a leap of 8.20m within the Nationwide Open Championships in Bhubaneswar in September final 12 months, has regained type after a heel harm saved him away from the Asian Championships in Doha in April. He just lately discovered the 8.00m mark once more and can acquire from competing within the large stage.

Whereas 400m runner Arokia Rajiv is unavailable resulting from harm, the selectors determined to debate the case of javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra who’s present process rehabilitation programme after an elbow surgical procedure at a later stage. Choice committee additionally permitted the names of sprinters Dutee Chand (100m Girls), ArchanaSuseentran (200m Girls) and excessive jumper Tejaswin Shankar topic to invitation from IAAF primarily based on their world rankings. The committee additionally determined to conduct confirmatory trial for quarter miler Anjali Devi for choice within the workforce in particular person ladies’s 400m. The trial can be performed on 21st September 2019 at NS-NIS Patiala.

The AFI choice committee assembly, chaired by Olympian Gurbachan Singh Randhawa, was attended by AFI President AdilleJ Sumariwalla, Chief Coach Bahadur Singh, Bahadur Singh Saggu, Krishna Poonia, Praveen Jolly, UdayPrabhu, Paramjit Singh. Former Chief Coach JS Saini and Deputy Chief Coach Radhakrishnan Nair have been particular invitees.

The workforce:
Males: Jabir MP (400m Hurdles), Jinson Johnson (1500m), Avinash Sable (3000m Steeplechase), KT Irfan and Devender Singh (20km Race Stroll), Gopi T (Marathon),Sreeshankar M (Lengthy Leap), Tajinder Pal Singh Toor (Shot Put), Shivpal Singh (Javelin Throw), Muhammed Anas, Nirmal Noah Tom, Alex Antony, Amoj Jacob, KS Jeevan, Dharun Ayyasamy and Harsh Kumar (4x400m Males’s & MixedRelay).

Girls: PU Chitra (1500m), Annu Rani (Javelin Throw), Hima Das, Vismaya VK, Poovamma MR, Jisna Mathew, Revathi V, SubhaVenkatsan, Vithya R (4x400m Girls & Blended Relay).

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button