Boxing Day Test: Australia Win Toss, Elect To Bat Against India In 2nd Test

Melbourne: Australia received the toss and elected to bat within the second Check match in opposition to India on the Melbourne Cricket Floor right here on Saturday.

The Aussies, who defeated India by eight wickets within the first Check in Adelaide after bowling them out for a paltry 36 within the second innings, have fielded an unchanged squad.

India, in the meantime, are stepping into with 4 modifications. They’ve introduced in Shubman Gill, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Siraj and Rishabh Pant instead of Prithvi Shaw (dropped), Virat Kohli (private causes), Mohammed Shami (injured) and Wriddhiman Saha (dropped).

Ajinkya Rahane will lead the facet within the absence of Kohli, who has returned to India to attend the start of his baby.

Gill and Siraj are making their Check debut making this the primary occasion since November, 2013 when India have fielded two debutants in a match. In that 2013 Kolkata Check vs West Indies, India performed Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami.

India are trailing the four-match sequence 0-1 after shedding the opening day/night time Check in Adelaide by eight wickets.

The enduring Boxing Day Check, second match of the sequence, shall be India’s 100th sport within the conventional format in opposition to Australia.


India: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Australia: Tim Paine (captain), Matthew Wade, Joe Burns, Marnus Labuschagne, Steven Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Inexperienced, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

(With IANS/PTI Inputs)

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button