Bengal Virtually Seal Semifinal Berth After Massive Lead Against Odisha

Tangi: Bengal put up a robust batting show of their second essay to just about seal a Ranji Trophy semifinal berth with a large 443-run lead over Odisha of their last-eight conflict right here on Sunday.

At shut on the penultimate day, Bengal had been 361 for seven following half centuries from Shreevats Goswami (78), Abhishek Raman (67) and Shahbaz Ahmed’s unbeaten 52.

It was nearly throughout for Odisha as there was no signal of a declaration from Bengal, who already had secured three factors by advantage of a first-innings result in put one step into the semifinals.

Bengal batsmen confirmed endurance and self-discipline to bat by way of the day and nearly assured their first last-four berth since 2017-18 after they misplaced to Delhi.

In a single day batsman Abhishek Raman performed a affected person knock to see by way of the early morning moisture after the departure of senior batsman Manoj Tiwary.

The in-form Tiwary, who slammed his maiden triple century this season, was dismissed for the second time within the match by Odisha pacer Debabarata Pradhan contained in the first-hour’s play.

Tiwary was trapped in entrance with a pointy incoming supply however that was the one vibrant spot for Odisha on the fourth day.

On a sluggish pitch with variable bounce, Raman confirmed superb endurance within the firm of diminutive Bengal wicketkeeper-batsman Goswami, the duo including 102 runs from 207 balls as Bengal’s lead inched in direction of 300.

Rookie all-rounder Ahmed, who has been the discover for Bengal with a hat-trick and 4 half centuries this season, smashed Poddar for the primary six of their innings.

Goswami then joined within the get together, hitting Poddar for 4 boundaries in his subsequent over, as Bengal made speedy progress within the last session.

Spinner Arnab Nandi additionally made it powerful for the struggling Odisha bowlers with a fast 45 off 75 balls.

Temporary scores:

Bengal 332 and 361/7; 132 overs (Shreevats Goswami 78, Abhishek Raman 67, Arnab Nandi 45, Koushik Ghosh 41, Shahbaz Ahmed 52 batting ). Odisha 250.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button