World News

8 Indo-Canadians Elected As MLAs

Vancouver: Eight Indo-Canadians had been elected to the 87-member Meeting of Canada’s British Columbia province. There have been 27 Indian-origin candidates within the fray within the elections held on Saturday.

All eight winners belong to the ruling New Democratic Get together which secured an absolute majority with 55 seats within the 87-member Home.

Three of the Indo-Canadian winners are ladies.

Famous human rights lawyer Aman Singh created historical past by turning into the primary turbaned Sikh MLA in British Columbia though the province was the primary to elect a Punjabi (Moe Sihota) as an MLA in 1986 and a Sikh (Ujjal Dosanjh) as Premier in 2001.

Singh brought on a significant upset by beating former journalist Jas Johal of the opposition Liberal Get together in Richmond-Queensborough.

Most of Indo-Canadian victories got here within the Indian-dominated metropolis of Surrey on the outskirts of Vancouver.

Distinguished winners embrace Labour Minister Harry Bains, Deputy Speaker Raj Chouhan, former minister Jinny Sims and parliamentary secretaries Jagrup Brar and Ravi Kahlon.

Bains retained his seat of Surrey-Newton by beating fellow Punjabi Paul Boparai of the Liberal Get together.

Bains, who comes from Hardaspur village close to Jalandhar, has received this seat since 2005.

Deputy Speaker Raj Chouhan additionally retained his seat of Burnaby-Edmonds by beating Tript Atwal of the Liberal Get together and Iqbal Parekh of the Inexperienced Get together. Chouhan got here to Canada from Punjab as a scholar in 1973.

Jagrup Brar of the ruling social gathering additionally retained his seat of Surrey-Fleetwood by trouncing fellow Punjabi Garry Thind of the Liberal Get together.

You Might Learn: China Warns UK Towards Providing Citizenship To HK Residents, Asks Not To Intrude In Home Points

A former Indian basketball participant, Brar has now received this seat 5 occasions since 2004.

The fifth Indo-Canadian man to win is Ravi Kahlon of the ruling NDP who beat Almora-born Neema Manral of the Inexperienced Get together and Jet Sunner (Jatinder) of the Liberal Get together.

Among the many ladies winners, Jinny Sims (Joginder Kaur) beat fellow Punjabi Dr Gulzar Cheema within the Surrey-Panorama constituency. Born at Pabwan village close to Jalandhar, Sims got here to Canada on the age of 9.

Rachna Singh of the ruling social gathering retained her Surrey-Inexperienced Timbers seat by beating Dilraj Atwal of the Liberal Get together.

Nikki Sharma of the ruling NDP received in Vancouver-Hastings.

Indian-origins make up about 10 per cent of the British Columbia inhabitants of 5 million.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button