World News

2020 Nobel Prize For Physics Awarded To 3 Scientists For Cosmology Finds

Stockholm: The 2020 Nobel Prize for physics has been awarded to Roger Penrose for black gap discovery and Reinhard Genzel and Andrea Ghez for locating a supermassive compact object on the centre of our galaxy.

It’s common for a number of scientists who labored in associated fields to share the prize. Final 12 months’s prize went to Canadian-born cosmologist James Peebles for theoretical work in regards to the early moments after the Huge Bang, and Swiss astronomers Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for locating a planet outdoors our photo voltaic system.

Associated Story: Scientists Who Found Hepatitis C Virus Win 2020 Nobel Medication Award

The celebrated award comes with a gold medal and prize cash of 10 million Swedish kronor (greater than USD 1.1 million), courtesy of a bequest left 124 years in the past by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel. The quantity was elevated not too long ago to regulate for inflation.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize for physiology and medication to Individuals Harvey J Alter and Charles M Rice and British-born scientist Michael Houghton for locating the liver-ravaging hepatitis C virus.

The opposite prizes are for excellent work within the fields of chemistry, literature, peace and economics.


Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button